ASI-WAS 2014 Fellowship Applications

Leave a comment

October 27, 2013 by Beatrice Marovich

The deadline to apply for the 2014 ASI-WAS Human-Animal Studies Fellowship is November 30, 2013. More details about the application process can be found here.

The ASI-WAS fellowship program is, of course, the reason for this blog’s existence. It was at the end of last year’s fellowship that some of us were reflecting on how nice it would be to have a digital forum where we might continue engaging in conversation. Having been a fellow last summer I will say, from my own experience, that the program is an excellent opportunity to develop interests in animal studies. Living in Middletown (on/near the lovely Wesleyan campus), and coming into conversation with other fellows from a range of disciplines on a daily basis, put me in contact with a host of unexpected ideas, angles, possibilities. I learned a lot from the other fellows, and hosts Lori Gruen & Kari Weil, and was consistently impressed with the quality of our group conversations. Also… Middletown is a pretty quiet place, compared to my home in Brooklyn. I was able to write an entire dissertation chapter while I was there. I can’t say enough good things about the program.

Leave a Comment